WhatsApp has introduced a feature in its latest updates that enable users to send videos and photos that users will view once. This comes in handy, considering WhatsApp has been criticized for lacking proper privacy for its users.
WhatsApp said this feature prevents the platform’s users from forwarding, saving, or sharing photos or videos that were sent or received with the view once media is enabled.
Not only that one can also be able to tell if a recipient has opened a view once photo or video if they have read receipts, turned on.
In this new WhatsApp photos and videos sent are not opened within 14 days, the media will disappear from the chat, similar to their already running disappearing messages feature. However, the view once media can be restored from backup if the message was not accessed at the time of backup.
What this means if the photo or video has already been read, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.